Change of guard at Kolar CMC

Madhusudhan elected president for second term of the local body

Madhsudhan represents 21st ward in the City. The choice became unopposed as two more contestants - Prakash, councillor from 20th ward and L Khaleel Ahmed representing 9th ward withdrew their nomination at the last minute.  Another aspirant, Shabana Azmi, councillor from 32nd ward could not file her nomination since she had not brought her caste certificate. Returning Officer R S Peddappaiah declared that Madhusudhan has been elected as CMC president, unopposed. The election was held on Monday noon.

Direct from tour

The aspirants had to file nomination between 9 am and 11 am. Seventeen councillors, who had identified themselves with Varthur Prakash faction, descended at the office, barely few minutes earlier. They were on 15-day tour. However, according to sources, the councillors returned from tour on Sunday night itself and camped at a guest house near Vijayapura.

A tough competition for the post of the City Municipal Council president had ensued at one time between Madhusudhan and Prakash. As the stalemate showed no signs of resolution, it was decided to select the aspirant by drawing chits. Madhsudhan got the chance. But, Prakash, who had opposed the mode of selection, did not agree to the decision. He was supported by few councillors as well. This development dented the unity in the Varthur faction. Prakash too submitted his nomination.

The legislator later tried to convince Prakash and asked him to withdraw the nomination while the latter pleaded for an opportunity. However, Prakash withdrew the nomination and so also Khaleel Ahmed. Councillors Lal Bahadur Shastry, Ravindra, Prasad Babu, Yashodhamma, Ramesh and Salauddin Babu walked out of the meeting. Hence there were only 20 members with the MLA’s faction. Chittibabu and Muraligowda did not identify themselves with any faction. Since there was no nomination other than that of Madhusudhan, he was declared elected unopposed.  As soon as the result was declared, the councillors raised slogans in favour of the legislator and congratulated the newly-elected president. Madhsudhan was later taken in a procession. “Our opponents have been humbled unable to face us. All the CMC members have come together in electing the president. Efforts will be made to ensure comprehensive development of the City,” declared a jubilant legislator, Varthur Prakash. However, another aspirant, Prakash, dismayed at the turn of events, was seen alone with a pale face.

Emphasis on development

Madhusudhan, later speaking to reporters said that he will accord priority to redress various problems plaguing the City and provide better infrastructure. He thanked all the councillors and the MLA for the cooperation extended in ensuring his election. He said that the development programmes will be chalked out under their guidance.

The City Municipal Council has a tenure of another ten months. It is said that the MLA has plans to divide this last tenure into  two, so as to pacify Prakash.  Security was beefed up near the CMC office in the wake of elections. Entry of public to the two roads connecting the CMC was banned. Additional Superintendent of Police S R Phaneendra Singh personally supervised the security arrangements. DySP Sangappa Chalavadi and others were present.

Comments (+)