Mysore LS seat: BJP gives way to Cong's Vishwanath

Mysore LS seat: BJP gives way to Cong's Vishwanath

With this win, the Congress party which had lost the seat for BJP in the previous polls, finishing third, has settled the scores, besides wresting the seat.

Vishwanath polled 3,54,810 votes while Vijayashankar secured 3,47,119 votes. Janata Dal (Secular) candidate B A Jeevijaya has garnered 2,16,283 votes.

Surprisingly, greenhorn Syed Nizam Ali of Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) has succeeded in making an inroad into Congress forte. As many as 19,895 voters have exercised their franchise in his favour.

He is followed by independent M V Santosh Kumar (11,586 votes), P Santhosh Kumar (5,521 votes), Dr E Keshamma of Rashtriya Dehat Morcha Party (3,831 votes), P N Srinath-Pathrike, independent (3,779 votes), Rafeeq, independent (3,742 votes), P Parashivamurthy of Rashtriya Kranthikari Samajawadi Paksha (2,555 votes), Arshadulla Shariff of Bharatiya Praja Paksha (2,457 votes) and M Leelavathi of Pyramid Party of India (2,300 votes).

Postal ballots

In the tally of postal ballots, Vishwanath secured 270 votes, Vijayashankar 504, Jeevijaya 138, Syed Nizam Ali 09, Leelavathi M 05, Rafeeq 02, P Parashivamurthy and Santhosh Kumar P 01. In the case of the remaining, it is zero. Of the total number of 1,398 postal ballots, 398 votes were declared invalid.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)