Prakash Chikkamagaluru APMC new president

Prakash Chikkamagaluru APMC new president

A K Prakash and Lokesh were elected as the president and vice president of Chikkamagaluru APMC on Wednesday. 

A K Prakash of Vastare and H B Mahendra of Avathi had filed their nominations for the president post, while Lokesh of Belavadi and K R Sujaya Subraya Gowda of Khandya contested for vice president. Prakash and Lokesh secured 16 votes each and won the election. 

"APMC has 16 members. JDS-Congress have eight members and BJP has eight members. To avoid picking of names through lottery, BJP, JD(S) and Congress members discussed and entered into an understanding, where the post of president was given to the Congress-supported members and the post of vice president for BJP-supported members," said a JD(S) member. 

The newly elected president Prakash promised to take up the work on concreting roads inside APMC premises and to construct two shandy markets. 

Vice president Lokesh promised to work for the betterment of farmers.