Infosys clinches 'Infy Cricket Cup'

Infosys clinches 'Infy Cricket Cup'

Playing against three-time winners and defending champions BEML in the finals, Infosys won by nine wickets.

After winning the toss, BEML decided to bat first and were dismissed for 73 runs in 19 overs. Sujith Sreekantan, Anil Parmar and Ajay Yadav picked up 2 wickets each for Infosys.

Umpires penalised Infosys 20 runs for the slow over rate. Chasing a target of 94, Captain Arun Pillai (44 not out) and his deputy Sharath Nataraj (36 not out) stayed till the end to ensure the first ever Infosys win in these annual T20 corporate championship.

Sharath Nataraj (Infosys) was adjudged the Man of the series and Best Batsman of the tournament for his contribution of 193 runs in 5 games.

Anil Parmar (Infosys) was adjudged the Best Bowler of the tournament, while Arun Pillai (Infosys) was declared as Man of the Match in the final.

Infosys Mysore DC Head, Nagarajan Srinivasan, Manager of ICICI Bank, Ravi Hulkoti, Wuerth Elektronik manager, Kemp Raj and General Manager, BEML, Rajesh Marida distributed the prizes to the winners and the runner ups.

Eight corporate teams from Mysore including Wipro, L&T, BEML, Wuerth Elektronik, Nestle, RBI, SPI and Infosys participated in the Infy Cup. The tournament took place at the Infosys campus.