Lotus blooms again in Kodagu

Lotus blooms again in Kodagu

Party workers celebrate their victory by bursting crackers

When the BJP failed in majority of the districts, in Kodagu, the BJP retained its two seats in the Assembly polls.

As the names of two BJP candidates were announced, BJP workers started celebrating their victory, outside the counting centre in Madikeri. BJP workers carried Appachu Ranjan and K G Bopaiah to express their happiness.

After their victory, both leaders visited Kote Ganapathy temple and offered a special pooja. They were accompanied by ZP president B Shivappa, taluk panchayat and town panchayat president and members. BJP workers in Somwarpet, Virajpet, Shanivarasanthe, Gonikoppa, Napoklu, Kushalnagar, Suntikoppa burst crackers to celebrate their happiness. Speaking to presspersons, K G Bopaiah said “the people of the district have not favoured caste politics. This has been proved by my victory.

The people of the district have exercised their franchise considering the development work initiated during the BJP-rule. A few environmentalists had tried to defeat me by levelling allegations.”

Appachu Ranjan said “inspite of anti-BJP wave in the State, the voters have supported the BJP in the district. I will work towards development of the district. A few had conspired to project me as a criminal. However, the voters did not care for false propaganda against me.”

Party workers were anxious every minute outside the counting centre.  In fact, if Ranjan was leading in a particular round/booth, it was opponents turn in the next round/booth. There was direct fight between Appachu Ranjan and JD(S) candidate in B A Jeevijaya and Bopaiah and Congress candidate B T Pradeep. Initially, it was Jeevijaya who was leading in Madikeri constituency. After 15th round, all the calculations were proved wrong and BJPs’ Appachu Ranjan marched a head and won the polls.

Surprisingly, K M Lokesh who had contested from Congress ticket managed to secure 32,000 votes.  In Virajpet, it was Bopaiah who was leading from the first round. A total of 2,96,381 votes were polled in two constituencies in the district. Out of which, 148 postal ballots were rejected and the total valid votes were 2,96,233.

The total valid votes in Madikeri constituency was 1,53,856 and in Virajpet it was 1,42,377.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)