Land owners seek change in land use classification

Land owners seek change in land use classification

Owners of the lands under Survey No 4 of Kurubarahalli, Survey No 41 of Alanahalli and Survey No 39 of Chowdalli, in the city, urged the government to solve the long-pending problem of land use classification. Reputed localities such has Siddhartha Nagar, KC Layout and JC Layout, under MUDA limits, have been formed on the lands.

The owners of the lands, at the foot of Chamundi Hill, have formed Chamundi Tappalina Bhoomalikara Sangha, to take forward the demand. They held a meeting here on Tuesday, and decided to stage a road block (rasta roko) protest on the Mysuru-Bengaluru highway.

“As the government changed the land use classification to ‘B Kharab’ the activities have come to a standstill in the areas. The people, who have built homes on the lands, are suffering, as they cannot sell the properties. They can’t divide the properties among their children and grandchildren. They cannot take up repair works on the houses. They are under fear of losing their hard earned assets,” they said.

“The government should remove the term ‘B Kharab’ in the documents of the lands in question. Through District In-charge Minister G T Devegowda, JD(S) supremo H D Deve Gowda and chief minister would be met to explain our problems. They would be urged to solve the long-pending problem. If the problem is not solved within a time frame, protests would be held to draw the attention of the government,” the members of the Sangha said.

“It is not proper to appeal before a court at this juncture as it would not be difficult for the government to solve the problem if the CM understands the plight of the people. The lands belonged to the erstwhile Wadiyar kings. The members of the erstwhile royal family sold some parts of the lands to some people after Independence. While some of the lands were acquired by MUDA for formation of layouts, some of the lands are still with private people. The district administration has mistaken the issue while issuing the tag of ‘B Kharab’,” they said. Sangha secretary K Manu, C Maheshwaran, Pamela Sanath, Chetan, Achaiah, Kodandaramu, Sathish Bargi, Shashikiran, Raghavendra Murthy, A V Ashok and Hasina Bhanu were present.