Poll results: No woman candidate winner from city

Poll results: No woman candidate winner from city

Of the 38 women candidates in the poll fray from Bengaluru city, none of the candidates could win. However, two women—former Congress mayor G Padmavathi and Sushma Rajagopal Reddy of Congress—gave a tough competition to their opponents.

While G Padmavathi fought against BJP's S Suresh Kumar in Rajajinagar constituency and lost by 9,453 votes, Sushma Rajagopal Reddy of Congress lost to M Satish Reddy from Bommanahalli by a huge margin.

Besides them, other women candidates, mainly from lesser known parties and independents managed to grab a few hundred votes from their respective constituencies.

In Jayanagar, due to the untimely demise of the BJP candidate B N Vijayakumar, Sowmya Reddy, the Congress candidate will have to wait till the date for the elections is announced.

In 2008, Shobha Karandlaje had won from Yeshwantpura constituency and was the only MLA from the city.