Cong, PDP file names for Jammu

Cong, PDP file names for Jammu

With battle lines drawn for the ensuing Lok Sabha elections, senior Congress leader and incumbent Member Parliament (MP) Madan Lal Sharma and Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate Yashpal Sharma on Thursday filed their nomination papers for Jammu-Poonch parliamentary constituency.

The constituency is scheduled to go for polls on April 10.

In the morning Sharma accompanied by several PDP leaders and workers filed his nomination papers before Returning Officer Ajeet Kumar Sahu.

Sharma who reached the office of the Returning Officer supported by a huge rally of Congress leadership filed the nomination papers in the afternoon. Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Omar Abdullah, his Deputy Tara Chand and J&K Pradesh Congress Committee president Saif-ud-Din Soz also accompanied the Congress candidate.

Earlier, three candidates including one from Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and two independents had filed their nominations for Jammu-Poonch Lok Sabha seat.

Officials said so far 27 nomination forms have been distributed for Jammu-Poonch seat. The last date of filing nomination for Jammu-Poonch has been fixed as March 22, while the scrutiny of nomination forms would be held on March 24. The candidates can withdraw their names before 3.00 PM on March 26.

Pertinently, Sharma, two-time MP of the constituency, registered thumping win in 2009 elections defeating BJPs Lila Karan Sharma by 1,21,373 votes.