Jaya virtually shuts door on MDMK; to contest from Srirangam

Party heavyweights including former chief minister O Panneerselvam (Bodinayakkanur), Presidium Chairman E Madhusudhanan (R K Nagar) and headquarters secretary K A Senkottaiyan (Gobichettpalayam) found place in the first list released by Jayalalithaa.
By naming candidates for 160 seats, Jayalalithaa has effectively ruled out any rapprochement with her sulking ally, the Vaiko-led MDMK, the only party remaining in the front since 2006.

Jayalalithaa appeared to have gone in for a safe seat as Srirangam had given her party nominee Kumar a lead of over 10,000 votes in the Lok Sabha polls enabling him to win the Tiruchirappalli seat in 2009.

Of the 56 sitting AIADMK MLAs, more than half were denied tickets. The list of candidates is a blend of youth and experience.

In the rainbow alliance led by AIADMK, DMDK floated by actor Vijaykant has been allotted 41 seats, MNMK three, Puthiya Tamizhagam two, SMK of actor Sarathkumar two and AIMMK, AIFB, KMIP and RPI one each. CPI-M and CPI were allotted 12 and 10 seats respectively.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Deccanherald.com/news/lok-sabha-elections-2019 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0