IFA announces launch of Premier League Soccer

IFA announces launch of Premier League Soccer

Taking a cue from the successful Indian Premier League Twenty20 cricket, PLS initially will have six franchises to be chosen through competitive bidding for 10 years with successful bidders paying a yearly franchise fee.

Only limited companies with a minimum net worth of Rs 10 crores could bid for a franchisee license.

The six franchise towns will be Kolkata, Howrah, Barasat, Asansol, Midnapore and Siliguri, IFA said in a release.

"The USP will be each team will have one icon player and three quality overseas layers. The icon players will be an overseas player with great repute, preferably someone who has represented his country in International matches. Each team can sign a maximum of 25 players," it said.

The team composition will have a maximum three overseas players, one overseas player of Asian origin; minimum five catchment players; minimum six players of U-21 years and maximum 10 from anywhere in India.

"The vision is to create a world class sports infrastructure across Bengal to raise the level of the sport," the release said.

Each team will be headed by an overseas coach with FIFA/UEFA A License and with proven track record.

PLS will be working as an autonomous and professional body under the license of IFA and will be headed by its Board of Governors.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)