ZP resolves to improve edn quality

ZP resolves to improve edn quality

The decision was taken during the KDP meeting held on Wednesday under the presidentship of Zilla Panchayat President K T Shailaja Bhat.

Speaking about various problems faced in schools of the district many members said that the quality of education is suffering in Kannada medium schools for various reasons.

“The number of students in Government Kannada medium schools is dwindling year after year,” the members said demanding that apart from recruitment of teachers, non-teaching staff should also be appointed in adequate numbers to each school.

District Kannada Sahithya Parishat President Pradeep Kumar Kalkura spoke on plight of Kannada medium schools, Kannada language in administration and usage of Kannada in day to day life.

He said that Kannada is being used a official language in all departments barring Wenlock Hospital, where the language has been implemented up to 80 per cent due to technical reasons.

“Language must be implemented 100 per cent in Wenlock too,” he said adding that all display boards should bear Kannada writings in public places.

He opined that penalty must be imposed on all the organisations who failed to do so.

Responding to this suggestion Labour  Department officials said that there is no provision for the same in the Act.

Ambedkar Development Board District Manager said that 28 borewells have been dug and electricity has been provide, under the Ganga Kalyana Yojane. As many as 1,040 houses have been provided electricity under Bhagya Jyoti/ Kuteera Jyoti Yojane.

Agriculture Department officials said that crops are being cultivated over 54,948 hectare land during 2010-11, which is 220 hectare less than last year’s cultivated land area.

Joint Director of the department said that a letter has been written to the Government requesting them to provide support to the farmers.

Incharge CEO Shivaramegowda held discussions on Indira Awas and Basava Indira Awas Programmes.

Zilla Panchayat Vice-President Dhanalakshmi Janardhan, Agriculture and Industries Standing Committee President Naveen Kumar Monala, Education and Health Standing Committee President Janardhan Gowda among others were present.