T20 Champions League to kick off in Bangalore, final in Hyderabad

T20 Champions League to kick off in Bangalore, final in Hyderabad

T20 Champions league logo

Hyderabad will host the final on October 23 as well as the second semi-final on October 22 while Delhi will host the first semi-final on October 21, as per the draw and match schedule announced today by the CLT20 Governing Council.

Three Indian teams - IPL-II champions Deccan Chargers Hyderabad, runners-up Royal Challengers Bangalore and Delhi Daredevils, the top finishers after the league phase - will take part in the tournament to be held in three centres across the country.

Cricket Australia and South Africa, the other two founder members of the tournament, will have two teams each while an equal number of teams will represent the England and Wales Cricket Board.

The remaining three teams will be from New Zealand, Sri Lanka and the West Indies.
The teams will be divided into four groups of three each in the first phase of the event to spot eight qualifiers for the second league phase.
The three Indian teams have been pooled in different groups in the preliminary phase.

While Deccan Chargers have been drawn in Group A, Royal Challengers and Delhi Daredevils are in Group C and D, respectively.
After the teams play their respective group rivals in round one, to be held from October 8-14, the top two teams will qualify for the second league phase, to be held from October 15-19.
The eight teams to reach the second league phase will be split into two groups of four each.
The top four teams from the second phase will progress to the semi-finals (October 21 and 22) and the winners of the semi-finals will clash in the grand final on October 23.
There will be a total of 23 matches spread over 16 days and matches will be held at 4 pm and 8 pm IST.
CLT20 Chairman Lalit Modi said after the schedule was finalised that it was the ideal tournament to "crown the best-of-the-best in domestic Twenty20 cricket worldwide".
"It is set to provide domestic cricketers with the ultimate talent showcase, one which I am certain will inspire and motivate future generations of club, state and county cricketers, while accelerating the development of the game globally and the careers of those involved," Modi said.
Apart from Modi the other members of the CLT20 Governing Council are N Srinivasan, James Sutherland, Niranjan Shah, Dean Kino and Gerald Majola.

In order to simplify the logistics the teams that move into the second league phase will maintain their position from the earlier group stage.
The preliminary groupings are:
Group A: A1 - Deccan Chargers, Hyderabad (Ind), A2 - ECB2 (To be decided), A3 - Trinidad and Tobago (WI).
Group B: B1 - New South Wales Blues (Aus), B2 - Diamond Eagles (SA), B3 - ECB1 (To be decided).
Group C: C1 - Royal Challengers, Bangalore (Ind), C2 - Cape Cobras (SA), C3 - Otago Volts (NZ).
Group D: D1 - Delhi Daredevils (Ind), D2 - Victorian Bushrangers (Aus), D3 - Wayamba (SL).
The full match schedule is:
Oct 8: Royal Challengers, Bangalore v Cape Cobras at Bangalore - 8 pm.
Oct 9: NSW Blues v Diamond Eagles at Delhi - 4 pm
Delhi Daredevils v Victorian Bushrangers - 8pm
Oct 10: Cape Cobras v Otago Volts at Hyderabad - 4 pm
Deccan Chargers v ECB2 at Hyderabad - 8 pm
Oct 11: NSW Blues v ECB1 at Delhi - 4 pm
Delhi Daredevils v Wayamba at Delhi - 8pm

Oct 12: ECB2 v Trinidad and Tobago at Bangalore - 4 pm
Royal Challengers v Otago Volts at Bangalore - 8pm
Oct 13: Victorian Bushrangers v Wayamba at Delhi - 4 pm
Diamond Eagles v ECB1 at Delhi - 8pm
Oct 14: Deccan Chargers v Trinidad and Tobago - 8 pm
Second stage:
League A: A1, A2, B2, B2
League B: C1, C2, D1, D2
Oct 15: C1 v D2 (League B) at Bangalore - 8 pm
Oct 16: A2 v B2 (League A) at Hyderabad - 4 pm
A1 v B1 (League A) at Hyderabad - 8pm
Oct 17: C2 v D2 (League B) at Bangalore - 4 pm
C1 v D1 (League B) at Bangalore - 8pm
Oct 18: A2 v B1 (League A) at Hyderabad - 4 pm
A1 v B2 (League A) at Hyderabad - 8 pm
Oct 19: C2 v D1 (League B) at Delhi - 8 pm
Oct 21: Semi Final 1: Winners of League B v runners-up of
League A at Delhi - 8 pm
Oct 22: Semi Final 2: Winners of League A v runners-up of
League B at Hyderabad - 8 pm
Oct 23: Final: Winners of SF 1 and 2 at Hyderabad - 8 pm.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)