Literary award for 'Swapna Saraswata'

Speaking to media persons, Bhandarkar’s Arts and Science College (Kundapur) Kannada Department Head Prof Rekha V Bannadi informed that the family of Dr H Shantharam has planned to give away the award to the creative literary works that are original.
Translated and republished volumes are not entertained.   

This year the books published in the year 2009 was considered. The Committee in charge of selecting the best book for the award has received as many as 75 books, she said. The prize carries a cash prize of Rs 15,000 and a silver plaque. A committee of honorary advisors comprising litterateurs Na Mogasale, Prof Muralidhar Upadhyaya and Sabiha Bhoomi Gowda was formed.

Besides, a standing committee with writer Janaki Brahmavara, Prof V Bannadi, columnist Om Shivanand Karantha is appointed to look into the affairs of selecting the book for the award. The committee holds solo rights to withhold the award if it fails to find suitable volumes under the prescribed category, she said.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)