GP bypolls: 82.71 per cent voting

GP bypolls: 82.71 per cent voting

Kolar taluk records high turn out

The three panchayats in the Kolar taluk topped the list as the voters turn out stood at 90.05 per cent on an average. Followed by two gram panchayats in Malur taluk which recorded 86.55 per cent. Six gram panchayats in Bangarpet taluk recorded 81.67 per cent while the two gram panchayats in Srinivaspur taluk recorded 80.54 per cent. The least was recorded at  two gram panchayats in Mulbagal where it was 78.49 per cent.

Off the 14,444 voters, 11,947 exercised their franchise. Among them 6,192 were men and 5,755 were women.


By-elections to the Gaunipalli and Vemapalli Grama Panchayats in Srinivaspur taluk concluded peacefully on Sunday.

According to election observers, Gaunipalli registered nearly 77.4 per cent of voting, while Vemapalli registered 83.67 per cent of voting.

By-elections to the two Grama Panchayat constituencies were necessitated as G K Nagaraj, who was elected from Gaunipalli constituency resigned, owing to his victory in the Zilla Panchayat elections. Similarly, Nagaraj, who was elected from the Vemapalli Grama Panchayat too resigned, as he emerged victorious in the Taluk Panchayat elections.

Taluk-wise details

Kolar taluk: Muduvati-90.91 pc, Choudenahalli-89.05 pc and Channasandra-90.21 pc.

Malur: Tornahalli-88.38 pc and Nootave-84.72 pc. Mulbagal: Kurudumale-79.10 pc and Mudigere-77.87 pc. Bangarpet: Mavalli-92.62 pc, N G Hulkuru-83.42 pc,

Betamangala-66.59 pc, Karahalli-90.16 pc, Parandahalli-74.56 pc and Balamande-82.67 pc. Srinivaspur: Vemapalli-83.67 pc and Gounipalli-77.41 pc.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)