Lack of quorum in ZP: Prez election put off to Sept 4

Lack of quorum in ZP: Prez election put off to Sept 4

Congress member Vijaya expelled, three others suspended

 BJP, Congress activists gathered in large numbers outside the fort premises where elections for ZP President and Vice President posts were scheduled to be held. dh photo

In a dramatic turn, Congress member V M Vijaya who submitted his nomination for the post of President with the support of BJP was expelled from Congress with  immediate effect based on a order from KPCC President. At the same time, Congress members H B Jayamma, Sanjay Jeevijay and S N Rajarao were suspended for supporting BJP.

Zilla Panchayat special meeting was convened to elect the President and Vice- President for the last term under the presidentship of Regional Commissioner M V Jayanthi. As BJP members had boycotted the election, Regional Commissioner postponed the meeting to September 4.

Prior to the meeting, nominations were filed between 11 am and 1 pm. Congress-JD(S) supported Congress candidate Abdul Lathif had filed nomination for the post of President while Bhanumathi had filed nomination for Vice-President post. However, Congress member V M Vijaya filed nomination with the support of BJP and Anitha Kanjithanda filed nomination for the post of Vice-President. Moreover, H B Jayamma, Sanjay Jeevijay and S N Rajarao, H S Ashok identified themselves with BJP. Standing Committee for Agriculture President H B Ganesh remained absent.

In the meantime, BJP members B C Neelamma, Susheela Lokaiah and K C Meenakumari did not turn up to the meeting. Though independent candidate H S Ashok, four members from Congress and JD(S) member H B Ganesh supported BJP, there was shortage of two members to come to power. About 13 members who supported the candidature of Abdul Lathif and Bhanumathi attended the meeting. However, they also needed two members support for coming to power.  Congress members Abdul Lathif, Chitra Ramesh, M K Nanjappa, Humayun Begum, Rajamma Rudrayya, Vrindababu, A Lokeshkumar, Bhanumathi, Deerghakeshi Shivanna, K M Balakrishna, Karun Kalaiah, JD(S) members V P Shashidhar and P B Manjula attended the meeting. Rebel Congress members V M Vijaya, H B Jayamma, S N Rajarao, independent candidate H S Ashok sat in MLA M P Appacchuranjan’s room. The man who blew the rebel trumpet Sanjay Jeevijaya was missing in the last minute. H B Ganesh too did not appear.

In the meantime, Block Congress President K M B tried his level best to issue whip to Congress leaders who were sitting inside the room of MLA Appacchuranjan. However, he was sent out by the BJP activists.

Regional Commissioner’s office Additional Commissioner Manjunath Nayak, Deputy Commissioner Ashwathanarayana Gowda, Zilla Panchayat CEO Mirja Akbarulla were present.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily