Administrator appointed to Veerashaiva Mahasabha

 The State government has appointed C Somashekhar, Deputy Commissioner, Tumkur as administrator to the Veerashaiva Mahasabha, for a period of six months. The appointment comes in the wake of infighting in the century-old organisation.

The term of the managing committee of the Society ended on December 25 with its president Bheemanna Khandre completing his 12-year tenure.

The elections to the committee was slated to held from November 15, 2011 to April 15, 2012.

A few members of the Mahasabha approached the High Court seeking to quash the calendar of events on the ground that it was not in accordance with the bylaw.

The Court granted an interim stay and the matter on appointment of administrator was posted to January 5.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)