Govt fails to deliver Yadgir dist

Govt fails to deliver Yadgir dist

Dismal performance acts as a dampner on the people of Gulbarga

Though the new district has failed to materialise, the Cabinet however, has decided to hold yet another meeting here on Thursday (Aug 27). The people of Gulbarga have lost the enthusiasm of hosting the Cabinet meeting again due to the dismal performance of the government.

New districts have been carved out without any hassles in the minimum time possible both in Karnataka and elsewhere in the country. Only in the case of bifurcation of Gulbarga district that the powers that be have been dragging their feet. Though H D Kumaraswamy was in power only for 20 months he caused the creation of two new districts - Ramnagaram and Chikballapur- which have celebrated their second anniversary last week. In case of Yadgir everything is ready from the last several years. All it needs is a formal declaration.

The cabinet sub committee headed by revenue minister Karunakar Reddy was asked to submit a report to the government on the inclusion of taluks in the new district but the committee has not yet finalised the report. The committee has met only twice in the last 11 months.

District in-charge Laxman Savadi has indicated that the cabinet sub committee may place its report in the August 27 meeting to enable the cabinet to announce the date of creation of state’s 30th district. The first cabinet meeting held on September 26 last year had sanctioned Rs 50 crore for the new district and released Rs 10 crore for 2008-09 for making spade work for housing the district level offices.

The M B Prakash Committee on Taluk Reorganisation also submitted its report in May this year thus clearing hurdles, if any, for the creation of new district. The Committee has recommended creation of 42 new taluks including six in Gulbarga district.

The six taluks are: Gulbarga City, Kamalapur, Kalgi, Gurmitkal, Hunisigi, and Yedrami. The government has not taken any decision on the issue and has constituted a committee of officers to go in to the report.

In all probability Yadgir district may have six taluks namely: Yadgir, Surapur, Shahapur, Gurmitkal, Hunisigi, and Yedrami while Gulbarga district will be left with nine taluks namely Gulbarga City, Kamalapur, Aland, Afzalpur, Jewargi, Sedam, Chittapur, Chincholi, and Kalgi.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily