Counting of votes for Vemagal ZP seat by-election today

Boodideru Taluk Panchayat seat counting in Mulbagal

The counting of votes to the Vemagal Zilla Panchayat seat election will be at the Government Pre-university College for Boys on Friday, said counting officer and  Assistant Commissioner R S Peddappaiah.

R S Peddappaiah, Kolar Assistant Commissioner, inspects the preparations at the Government Pre-university College for Boys in the City for the counting of votes in the Vemagal Zilla Panchayat bypoll on Friday.DH Photo

“One classroom in the College will be used for the counting and 30 staff have been appointed for the work. In addition, 80 police staff have been appointed to provide security while the counting is on,” he told Deccan Herald on Thursday.

The counting will commence at 8 am. “As it is counting of votes for only one constituency, we have provided four tables. We have approximated that each table will have 10 to 15 rounds of counting,” he said. Declaration of results should be by about 10.30 am, Peddappaiah added.

He visited the Government College on Thursday and inspected the provisions made for the counting process. He also instructed the staff on the process.

Nagaraj, revenue inspector at the Tahsildar's office, accompanied him during the inspection.
‘Five-fold contest’

The Vemagal constituency is reserved for a woman from the Backward Class A.
Five contestants have competed in the bypoll this year: Kalyani (Congress) of Vishwanagara, L Asha (JDS) of Channasandra, Sarojamma (BJP) of Rajakallalli, Bhagyamma (Varthur faction) of Kurubarahalli and M Rajeshwari (D R Shivakumar Gowda faction) of Bettahosapura.

The outcome of the Vemagal bypoll is said to be eagerly expected by various parties and factions involved, according to political analysts, as the post of the Kolar Zilla Panchay
at president too is reserved for a woman from Backward Class A.

The fact has given rise to ideas that the candidate who wins the Vemagal bypoll has enough opportunities to become even the president of the Zilla Panchayat.

In Mulbagal

The counting of votes to the Boodideru Taluk Panchayat constituency too is to be held on Friday. The Mini Vidhana Soudha in the town will be the counting centre. The process will begin at 8 am.

The results are expected to be out by about 9 pm.

Two police staff have been placed to guard the voting machines at the centre.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0