South Zone crowned champions

South Zone crowned champions

South Zone lifted the Vizzy Trophy, the inter-university inter-zonal title, after crushing North Zone by seven wickets in the four-day final at the Wankhede Stadium here on Saturday.

South put themselves in the driver’s seat on Friday after taking a handy 177-run first innings lead over their rivals and then reducing North Zone to 280 for seven in the second knock.

South Zone continued their good work on Saturday by grabbing North’s last three wickets for the addition of just 52 runs.

Left with a target of 156 to chase, South made 158 for the loss of three wickets with H Srikanth completing his second half-century of the match and Rohan Yadav making an unbeaten 40.

South reached the target in the 42nd over.

Brief scores: North Zone: 365 and 332 all out (Ravinder Singh 48, Dhruv Shaurya 96, Abhishek Gupta 73, H Satyawan 50 n.o.; S Daniel 6-128) lt to South Zone: 542 and 158/3 (H Srikanth 88, Rohan Yadav 40 n.o.).