Vidyavardhaka garners huge win against Basudev Somani

Vidyavardhaka garners huge win against Basudev Somani

Dell-KSCA cricket tourney

An unbeaten century by middle-order batsman N Manoj (104 not out, 15x4s, 3x6s) and his 110-run third-wicket partnership with skipper N Ganesh (62, 8x4s), helped Vidyavardhaka First Grade College to register a 137-run win over Basudeva Somani FGC in the first round inaugural match of the Dell-KSCA Inter-Collegiate Knock-out tournament conducted by the KSCA, Mysore Zonal Committee at the Maharaja’s College grounds here on Friday.

Put into bat by Basudeva Somani College, Vidyavardhaka FGC scored 260 for five in 30 overs. 

In reply, Basudeva Somani FGC were bowled out for 123 runs in 24.3 overs. Off-spinner Abhilash struck with a haul of five for 30. He was supported by off-spinner Bharath who took three for 30.

Government First Grade College, Chamarajanagar scored a 66-run win over NIE (Science) College at the Maharaja’s College grounds in the afternoon and entered the second round. At the Manasagangothri grounds, Cauvery PU College registered a big ten-wicket win over Muslim Education Society. An unbeaten 160-run partnership between openers Ashun Kumar A Shetty (64 not out, 10x4s) and Dheeraj (75 not out, 12x4s, 2x6s) for Cauvery PU College, was the highlight of the match.

In the other first round match at Gangothri grounds, D Banumiah’s College secured a four-wicket win over Maharaja’s Institute of Technology to progress further.

Earlier, the inaugural DELL-KSCA Inter-collegiate knock-out cricket tournament conducted by the KSCA, Mysore Zone, for the colleges of Mysore, Mandya and Chamarajanagar, was inaugurated by KSOU registrar B S Vishwanath.

A total of 28 teams are taking part in this tournament which is being conducted on a knock-out basis.


Match 1: Vidyavardhaka FGC: 260/ 5 in 30 overs ( N Manoj 104 not out, N Ganesh 62, Gautham 22, Bharath 20, Karthik two for 56) bt Basudeva Somani FGC 123 in 24.3 overs ( Abhilash five for 30, Bharath three for 30).

Match 2: GFGC, Chamarajanagar 204 for nine in 30 overs ( Yogesh 55, Siddapaji 41, Manish three for 37, Nithin two for 26, Gururaj U two for 30, Nikethan two for 35) bt NIE (Science) 138 in 27.1 overs ( Bosco 25, Hemanth 24, Yeshwanth three for 12, Pradeep two for 16, Nandakumar two for 29).

Match 3: Muslim Education Society FGC 157 in 25.3 overs ( Shakib 28, Jawad Pasha 23, Thousif 22, Parveez Pasha 21, Dheeraj three for 27, Vinod Gowda two for 35, Vivek Kaushik two for 51) lost to Kaveri PU College 160 for no loss in 18.1 overs (Dheeraj 75 not out, Ashun Kumar A Shetty 64 not out).

Maharaja Institute of Technology 117 for nine in 22 overs (Inclusive of 10 penalty runs for one over short) ( Anjan 34, Bharath two for 22, Nagaraj two for 25) lost to D Bhanumiah’s College 121 for six in 20 overs (Pradeep 51 not out, Sujan two for 23).