37 GPs get awards under Sampoorna Swachchata scheme

37 GPs get awards under Sampoorna Swachchata scheme

Rs 2 lakh given to each gram panchayat

In Rrecognition: Sampoorna Swachchata Andolan award being presented to a Gram Panchayat head at NGO Hall in Mangalore on Thursday. ZP President Santhosh Kumar Bhandary among others are seen. DH photoSpeaking on the occasion, MLA U T Khader said by achieving cent per cent results in the SSA, the gram panchayats have elevated the district’s prestige at the national-level.
The success stories of this kind taking place at the panchayat-level bring honours to the elected representatives too. They also increase people’s faith in the administrative mechanism. The scheme should prove successful in other villages of the taluk also, Khader said.

The Chief Minister has convened a special meeting in Bangalore on September 9. If elected representatives bring problems at panchayat-level to my notice, I will try to present them before the government, he assured.

In his address, Zilla Panchayat former president K P Sucharitha Shetty said the gram panchayats should show their commitment towards providing more infrastructure to its people.

“Gram Panchayat is a constitutional body. The members here do not get elected under any political party’s banner. This makes them to be open and pro-people. Since gram panchayat elections are approaching, this is time for the GP members to introspect,” he said.

The SSA should not limit itself to documents. It should take the shape of a campaign and become a part of the rural life. It should help the villages to keep themselves away from health-related problems. Officials and non-governmental organisations should take interest in creating awareness among the people in this regard, Shetty said.

Zilla Panchayat President Santhosh Kumar Bhandary presented the cash prizes to the Gram Panchayats. Mangalore Taluk Panchayat President Ramachandra Kumpala, Executive Officer Kantharaj, former TP president Ranganath Shetty, Standing Committee head Ramesh Poojary, BEO Moses Jayashekhar, Sheena Shetty and Krishna Moolya of Janashikshana Trust were present.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily