Bola, Seetharam, Srinivas selected for Academy awards

The Karnataka Tulu Sahithya Academy will confer its honorary award on well known litterateur Bola Chitharanjandas Shetty, theatre personality Seetharam Shetty and T A Srinivas from the cinema field.

Meanwhile the ‘Pusthaka Bahumana’ will be given away to Puthige Padmanabha Rai (novel), Dr Ashok Alva (story) and Rathnakara Rao Kavoor (drama).

Addressing a news conference at the Academy premises here on Tuesday, Academy President Umanath Kotian said that the awards will be given away on June 16, at Town hall, in Mangalore. 

The programme will be inaugurated by folk researcher Bannanje Babu Amin while MLA N Yogish Bhat will preside.

The honorary award will be given away by MP Nalin Kumar Kateel. Pusthaka Bahumana will be distributed by MLA Krishna J Palemar.

Kotian informed that on the occasion, a book ‘Kavigalu Kanda Tulunadu,’ a compilation of poems by various poets on Tulunadu will be released by litterateur Hampa Nagarajaiah.

‘Thithilri Majal’ and ‘Tulunadu Beere-Devu Poonja’ dramas will be staged during the programme and an upgraded version of Academy website will be relaunched during the same programme.

Comments (+)