RJD-LJP combine bags 8 seats in Bihar

RJD-LJP combine bags 8 seats in Bihar

Proving all poll predictions wrong, the RJD romped home in five seats while its alliance partner –– the LJP of Ram Vilas Paswan –– registered victory in three other constituencies.
Contrary to expectations, the ruling party JD (U) could win only four seats while its ally –– the BJP –– scraped through in two constituencies.

The Congress, which had fielded its candidate on all the 18 seats (as it had struck no alliance with any regional outfit), managed to win Chenari and Simri Bakhtiyarpur seats. One seat each was won by the BSP nominee and an Independent.

The bypoll has not only upset Nitish’s applecart, but the ruling party had to go into a huddle on Thursday evening to dissect what went wrong with its voters which were eating out of Nitish’s hands just a couple of months back.

In May 2009, the NDA had bagged 80 per cent of the Lok Sabha seats by wresting 32 out of 40 parliamentary constituencies. The RJD was routed and could win in just four seats, while the LJP could not even open its account.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily