Tehri Lok Sabha bypoll registers 45 pc turnout

Tehri Lok Sabha bypoll registers 45 pc turnout

About 45 per cent of the electorate on Wednesday voted in the key Tehri Lok Sabha by-election where chief minister Vijay Bahuguna’s son and Congress nominee Saket is pitted against BJP’s Mala Raj Laxmi Shah.

As per figures collected from 14 Assembly segments of the Parliamentary constituency spread over three districts, around 45 per cent of nearly 12 lakh voters exercised their franchise, chief election officer Radha Raturi said.

She said the polling passed off peacefully.

Voters in five villages of three districts of Uttarkashi, Tehri and Chakrata boycotted the poll, she said.

Alleged laxity on part of the government in implementation of development programmes is understood to have been the reason behind the boycott.

Saket is locked in a straight contest with BJP nominee, who is a member of the erstwhile Tehri royal family.  Counting of votes will take place on Oct 13.