SBMJC book semis berth

Sree Bhagwan Mahaveer Jain College (SBMJC) defeated St Joseph’s College of Commerce (SJCC) by four wickets to seal a berth in the semifinals of the International College Premier League T20 tournament at the JIRS ground on Wednesday.

Batting first, SJCC posted 132/4 in 17 overs with contributions from Vijay Kumar (44) and Ashish Dhar (42) being the highlights while Samarth scalped two wickets for SBMJC.

Chasing 133 in 17 overs (it was decided to have 17-overs-a-side game after the delayed conclusion of the first match), SBMJC romped home in 16.3 overs scoring 133/6.

Shashindra was the top scorer with 38 while Nihal Ullal remained unbeaten on 36.   In the first league match, Jain College, Belgaum registered a 42-run victory over hosts Jain University - Centre for Management Studies (CMS).

Brief scores: Quarterfinal: SJCC: 132/4 in 17 overs (Vijay Kumar 44, Ashish Dhar 42; Samarth 2-30) lt to SBMJC: 133/6 in 16.3 overs (Shashindra 38, Nihal Ullal 36 n.o.; Bharath P 2-22, Nilesh Meena 2-31).

League round: Jain College, Belgaum: 149/6 in 20 overs (Govinda Gawade 40, Rohit Desai 36; Rudrajeet Deka 2-22, Abhishek Vishwanath 2-31) bt Jain University, CMS: 107 all out in 17.1 overs (Sparsh Srivastava 44; Tejas Pawar 2-12); Deshbandhu College, Delhi: 88 all out in 16.5 overs (Lelin Kumar 26, Nitin Jariyal 26; Vignesh M 5-9, Ahmed Farzeen 2-13) lt to Gurunanak College, Chennai: 89/1 in 13.2 overs (Rahul B 32, Sikandar Shereef 31 n.o.).

Liked the story?

  • Happy
  • Amused
  • Sad
  • Frustrated
  • Angry

Thanks for Rating !