Urban local body polls: Live blog

Urban local body polls: Live blog

Urban local body polls: Live blog

The Poll officials have begun counting the votes cast in urban local bodies elections on March 7. The verdict in the 208 urban local bodies (excluding Bangalore) is seen as a "semi-final" for assembly elections due in May. Here are the early trends:

Results announced for 4893 wards out of 4976 wards

Congress has won in 1895 wards

JD(S) has won in 892 wards

BJP has won in 887 wards

KJP has won in 270 wards

BSR Congress has won in 76 wards

Others have 771 wins

Independent candidates win in Bhatkal. 21 of 22 seats won by Independent candidates.



Congress wins 10 seats in Gulbarga
Congress wins 3 seats in Shimoga
Congress leads in 26 wards in Bellary
Congress wins in Mangalore
Congress wins 15 seats in Mandya
Cong wins 2 seats in Raichur CMC
Congress wins Hunsur CMC
Congress leads in Nippani
Congress Leads in Shimoga
Congress leads in Hospet
Congress wins in Bantwala
Congress leads in 19 wards in gulbarga
Congress wins Gundalpet
Congress leads in Bhalki
Congress wins in Gowribidnur
Congress wins in Bellary
Congress wins in Chamarajanagar
Congress wins in Udupi
Congress wins in KR Nagar
Congress wins in Karwar
Congress wins in Mangalore
Congress wins in Gadag

BJP wins in Koppa and Sringeri town
BJP wins 6 seats in Udupi
BJP wins in Nagargunda TNC
BJP wins in Thirtahalli
BJP wins in Sankeshwar
BJP wins in Koppa
BJP wins in Chimagalur
BJP leads in Hubli-Dharwad
BJP leading in Hubli-Dharwad city corporation

KJP wins 2 seats in Gulbarga
KJP wins in Afzalpur town
KJP leads in Shikaripura

JD(S) wins in Hassan
JD(S) wins in Hosanagara
JD(S) wins in Nelamangala
JD(S) wins in Malavalli
JD(S) wins in Kolar


BSR behind Congress in Bellary
Congress defeats JD(S) in Ramanagara
Congress defeats BSR in Bellary
Setback for Kumaraswamy in Ramanagar
Setback for Minister Varathur Prakash as JD(S) wins in Kolar
Congress wins 20 seats in Shirsi, setback for Khageri

Other results

*Hung results in Mandya CMC
*Transgener candidate from Congress wins from ward 4 in Bellary Municipal Corporation
*Snake Shyam wins from BJP in Mysore
*Hung results in Tumkur
*Congress v/s JD(S)S in Mysore
*Koppal Undecided
*Hung results in Shimoga
*Setback for Kannadigas as Marathis win Belgaum City Corporation
*Independent candidates rule Bhatkal
*Raichur undecided
*Hung verdict in Bidar
*Hung verdict in Mysore

BJP-30; CONG-22

JD(S)-16, CONG-18

BSR-6; CONG-26

  Cong-  36    Others- 4        

JD(S)- 10; CONG-23
BJP-  20 ;     INC - 35  

JD(S)-20   CONG-  22