Tense moments over re-counting

Tense moments over re-counting

BJP leader allowed in; Congress leaders oppose

Tension prevailed for some time at the counting centre at JSS College of Pharmacy, following contention over the winner from ward no 4.

M D Parthasarathy, the BJP candidate, who led initially, was mistaken to be victor and supporters swung into celebrations. But, for their dismay, finally, N Sunil Kumar of Congress was declared winner.

Parthsarathy insisted on re-counting, citing the reason that his party agents were not present during the counting, which was refuted by the Congress.

Deputy commissioner Ramegowda, along with other officers concerned, visited the spot and held a meeting with the candidates. Following objection by the Congress candidate, officers held a couple of meetings. But, even after re-counting, Sunil Kumar remained the victor.

Meanwhile, a few leaders of the parties arrived on the spot to support their candidates.

Though MLC Go Madhusudhan was allowed inside the counting centre, Congress leaders and workers were stopped, leading to an altercation between the cops and Congress workers.

Ex-MLA M K Somashekar and state president of Youth Congress Rizwan Arshad were stopped at the gate. Somashekar tried to contact the DC, in vain.

DC Ramegowda confirmed that re-counting took place in the presence of party agents, candidates and other officers. He said: “The election observer also spoke to the election commissioner. The results were found correct.”