Bangladesh win to share series

Bangladesh win to share series

Bangladesh scored a thrilling three-wicket win over Sri Lanka to level the three-match series 1-1 here on Thursday.

Set a revised target of 183 from 27 overs in rain-curtailed match, the visitors suffered a late collapse before scampering home with an over to spare.

Bangladesh were helped along by Nasir Hossain's composed 33 off 27 balls as the visitors completed their first victory in 15 completed games against Sri Lanka in Sri Lanka.

The hosts, meanwhile, didn't build appropriately on an excellent start, ending up at 302 for 9 in their 50 overs when they looked on course for much more. Opener Tillakaratne Dilsha led Lanka’s batting with a brilliant 128-ball 125.

Left-arm spinner Abdur Razzak led the way to bring Bangladesh back into the hunt by cutting out boundaries and picking up late wickets.

Bangladesh began their chase in an equally good manner, with Mohammad Ashraful and Anamul Haque adding 77 runs for the first wicket. But rain delayed the chase by more than two hours, with the score at 78 for one in 13.4 overs. The visitors then needed to score another 105 runs to win in the next 13.2 overs, and they did it successfully.

Score board


J Perera c N Hossain b M’dullah    56
Dilshan c N Hossain b S Hossain    125
Sangakkara c Haque b Razzak    48
T Perera b Razzak    4
Mathews st Mushfiqur b Razzak    6
Mendis b Gazi    5
Chandimal b Rahman    0
Thirimanne (not out)    25
Kulasekara lbw Razzak    11
Senanayake b Razzak    0
Malinga (not out)    5
Extras (LB-2, W-14, NB-1)    17
Total (for 9 wkts, 50 overs)    302
Fall of wickets: 1-116, 2-203, 3-212, 4-228, 5-233, 6-238, 7-263, 8-291, 9-291. Bowling: S Hossain 10-0-71-1, Rahman 10-0-65-1, Gazi 10-1-52-1, Razzak 10-0-62-5, Mahmudullah 10-0-50-1.

BANGLADESH (Target: 183 from 27 overs)

Anamul c Chandimal b Mathews    40
Ashraful lbw Senanayake    29
Islam c Sangakkara b Mathews    26
Mushfiqur (run out)    9
N Hossain (not out)    33
Mahmudullah lbw Senanayake    6
Mominul c Sangakkara b Malinga    11
Ziaur c T Perera b Malinga    0
Gazi (not out)    4
Extras (B-4, LB-13, W-9)    26
Total (for 7 wkts, 25.6 overs)    184
Fall of wickets: 1-77, 2-97, 3-119, 4-126, 5-144, 6-166, 7-166.
Bowling: Kulasekara 4-1-29-0, Malinga 6-0-29-2, Mathews 5-0-39-2, Senanayake 6-0-26-2, T Perera 4.6-0-44-0.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)