Candidate selection: BJP on the fast track

Candidate selection: BJP on the fast track

The only constituency in the district where the BJP has already declared its official candidate for the Assembly elections is Bangarpet, but the decisions for the other constituencies are expected to be out soon.

Former minister K Srinivas Gowda has already begun campaigning as the JD(S) candidate from Kolar constituency. With Legislator Naseer Ahmed finally bowing to the requests of both supporters and party leaders and consenting to contest the elections, the Congress too has got its candidate. The decision is yet pending in the BJP.

The district president of the BJP N Lakshmaiah, who spoke to Deccan Herald, said the BJP National Youth Forum secretary Mohan Reddy, BJP District Youth Forum president Omshakthi Chalapathi, Kolar Education Cell district coordinator K R Pillappa, women’s unit member Pramila and Hoovalli Chalapathi are the five contenders for the ticket from Kolar constituency.

“A party leaders’ meeting will be held on March 29 at a resort on the Bangalore-Kolar road to take the decision. State government Chief Whip Dr Shivayogi Swamy, who has taken charge of the BJP’s performance in the district as well as legislators Vijayakumar, and Y A Narayanaswamy will be present at the discussion,” he added.

“None of the contenders has so far insisted on being given the ticket. The selection of the candidate should therefore be easy,” said Lakshmaiah.

The decision on whether to give Y Sampangi, the Kolar Gold Fields legislator, indicted by the Court on bribery charges, is also pending. The party leaders have called a meeting in Bangalore on March 30, to discuss the matter.

The pros and cons and the legal implications of giving Sampangi a ticket will be discussed during the meeting, as the High Court will hear the case in April, said Lakshmaiah.

Meanwhile, the party has at least four others queued up for the Kolar Gold Fields ticket: Dr Arivalagan and Dr Dinakaran, famed surgeons, Mutyalamma, Zilla Panchayat member, and Anekal Nagaraj, from Sarjapur in Bangalore Rural district.

The four contenders, however, have also expressed no rivalry among them, insisting that they will support whoever is selected as the official candidate by the BJP leaders.
The contenders from Mulbagal and Srinivaspur are yet to see any finality in the selection process yet.