Lok Satta Party announces candidates for 15 seats

Lok Satta Party announces candidates for 15 seats

It may be a fringe party and not have the visibility of the fledgling KJP or the BSR Congress. But the Lok Satta Party has already released a list of 15 candidates for the May 5 Assembly elections in the State.

The party is hopeful that its candidates’ track record will hold the key to garner the requisite votes to win the seats.

“Our track record and intentions to clean the political system and the possibility of having ‘like-minded’ individuals campaigning for us will get us past the post in a few of our seats,” said the party’s campaign convenor N S Mukunda.

The Lok Satta Party has stated that its political intent is based on ‘principles’ and away from today’s money and liquor politics. However, the party is willing to accept donations from all sections of society, even from corporates who wish to bring in the change.

“We want to move away from the conventional sense of pursuing vote banks by distributing money and liquor. We hope that our party can herald a new age of politics which will clean the system and serve the people with good intent,” said Dr Ashwin Mahesh, one of the candidates.

Candidates’ list

Sridhar Pabbisetty, who resigned recently as the chief operating officer of the Centre for Public Policy at the IIM-B to contest the election, will enter the poll fray as Lok Satta Party candidate from Hebbal.

The other candidates are: Dr Ashwin Mahesh (Bommanahalli), Dr Meenakshi Bharath (Malleswaram), Shanthala Damle (Basavanagudi), Rajashri Muralidhar (Mahalakshmi Layout), Ravi Krishna Reddy (BTM Layout), Yogaiah V C (Byatarayanapura), Sumithra Iyengar (Padmanabha Nagar), Roopa Rani (Rajajinagar), Mahadevappa Gowda (Sira), Ramanna R H J (Raichur City), Guruswami (Raichur Rural), Shankarlinge Gowda (Chikmagalur), Vasantha Dalwai (Athani) and  Naveena C K (Krishnaraja).