Bharath, Aaron star for City XI

Bharath, Aaron star for City XI

Bangalore pocket three points by virtue of innings lead

On the final day of the two-day clash at the IAF grounds on Tuesday, City XI surged past Raichur’s 210 for nine and had raced to 415 for six when the match was abandoned as a draw, giving the former three points for their 205-run first-innings lead.

City XI resumed day two on 23 for one, and rode on Bharath’s 121 (115b, 17x4, 1x6), complemented by Fernandez’s 74 (111b, 11x4) to power past Raichur’s modest total. Other handy contributions came from Shaik Liaquddin (65) and Raunak Shah (56 n.o.).
At the NRA grounds, Shreyas Gopal was unfortunate to narrowly miss out on a hundred, but his patient 98 (228b, 13x4), coupled with FS Nihal’s 78 (123b, 10x4), helped President’s XI snatch the first-innings lead against Tumkur Zone.

Chasing Tumkur’s 291 for seven, President’s XI just crossed the finish line before being dismissed for 295. AS Puneeth was at hand with an unbeaten 25 to see his team past the Tumkur total.

Brief scores: At IAF grounds: Raichur Zone: 210/9 in 90 overs drew Bangalore City XI: 415/6 in 81 overs ( Aaron Fernandez 74, KN Bharath 121, Shaik Laiquddin 65, Raunak Shah 56 n.o.; Rahul Raj 3-113). City XI 3 pts, Raichur 1.

At NRA grounds: Tumkur Zone: 291/7 in 90 overs drew President’s XI: 295 all out in 86.3 overs (Shreyas Gopal 98, FS Nihal 78, Vijay Kumar 31, AS Puneeth 25 n.o.; J Bharath 3-34, Suresh H Karni 2-41, K Prasanna 3-50). President’s XI 3 pts, Tumkur 1.

Rohit spurs Whirlwind

Rohit Verma made an even hundred to set up Whirlwind Cricketers’ 113-run win over Young Challenging Cricketers in the KSCA Group I Division IV league tournament for the Metro Shield.

Whirlwind amassed 274 for five in their 50 overs and rolled Young Challenging over for 161 as Venkatesh returned figures of three for 43.

Brief scores: Whirlwind Cricketers: 274/5 in 50 overs (Rohit Verma 100, Tariq Wali 62, Deepak AG 61 n.o.; Nagabhushan 2-48) bt Young Challenging Cricketers: 161 all out in 33.5 overs (Vinay MS 42, Jagadish 35, Sharath Babu 33; Venkatesh 3-43, Faraz 2-19, Srinivas 2-29).

Sangam Cricket Association: 193 all out in 44.3 overs (Mathew 50, Abhay Patil 46, Deepak Giriraj 28, Sathish Kumar 27; Bhagwan Singh 5-69, A Manohar 4-58) lt to Indiranagar Cricketers: 194/3 in 35.2 overs (Ramakrishna 50, Niranjan 59 n.o., Manoj 37; Sathish Kumar 2-29).

Ranji CC: 182 all out in 46.4 overs (Arun 46, Girish 66; J Harshan 6-38) lt to IISC Gymkhana: 184/5 in 44 overs (Ashith 54, Sounik 72 n.o.; Srikanth 2-42).