Vidhana Soudha back to its usual self

The seat of power, Vidhana Soudha, was a beehive of activity on Monday with the newly sworn in ministers in the Siddaramaiah Cabinet taking charge in the chambers allotted to them.

The corridors of the State secretariat were overflowing with well-wishers with bouquets in hand eager to greet their ministers. Cleaning and refurbishing of the chambers was also on in full swing. With the name plates of ministers and their personal staff  yet to be readied, computer printouts with the names of the ministers and their portfolios were stuck on the doors of some chambers for identification.

Department of Personnel and Administrative Reforms (DPAR) completed the process of allotting rooms and their personal staff on Sunday. Rooms facing west and those in the same corridor as the chief minister’s chambers were the most in demand. Rooms facing east were preferred next, followed by those facing north. 

Higher Education Minister R V Deshpande has got back Room no 314.

Deshpande occupied the room for ten consecutive years as Major and Medium Industries Minister between 1994 and 2004 -  first in the undivided Janata Dal government and then in the S M Krishna-led Congress government. It is considered a “lucky” room for him.

Of the 28 ministers, three ministers - Forest Minister Ramanath Rai, Housing Minister M H Ambareesh and Urban Development Minister Vinay Kumar Sorake have opted for rooms in Vikasa Soudha.

Primary and Secondary Education Minister Kimmane Ratnakar was among the first to take charge on Monday morning.

He also held a meeting with senior officials of the department. Water Resources Minister M B Patil also took charge and was given a briefing on the final award of the Cauvery Water Disputes Tribunal by department officials.

Cooperation Minister H S Mahadevaprasad and Rural Development and Panchayat Raj Minister H K Patil assumed office at room 328 and 329 respectively on the third floor of Vidhana Soudha by offering pooja. Their offices were decorated with banana stalks, mango leaves and flowers. They distributed sweets after offering pooja.

Home Minister K J George (room 316), Revenue Minister V Srinivas Prasad (room 315) and Food and Civil Supplies Minister Dinesh Gundu Rao (room 230) also assumed office. However, they did not conduct any pooja at their offices.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)