Kharge seventh Rly minister from Karnataka

Kharge seventh Rly minister from Karnataka

Kharge seventh Rly minister from Karnataka

Mallikarjun Kharge has become the seventh leader from Karnataka to head the Railway Ministry, an important portfolio, since independence.

The 71-year-old Congress leader who missed out in the chief ministerial race in Karnataka last month has been compensated with the plum  portfolio after being shifted from Labour and Employment.

The Karnataka leaders who served as railways ministers were: H C Dasappa, C M Poonachacha, Kengal Hanumanthiah, TA Pai, George Fernandes and C K Jaffer Sheriff. While making Siddaramaiah the Chief Minister of Karnataka, the party top brass reportedly promised Kharge to reward him with the Railways portfolio at the Centre.

A loyal Congress leader, Kharge has been maintaining low profile as a Union Minister for Labour and Employment despite implementing several key programmes in the ministry, including opening new skill development centres and extending Aam Admi Bhima Yojana insurance cover to domestic and construction workers. 

Though Kharge left with less than one year for complete the tenure of the UPA II, people of Karnataka have more aspirations from him in terms of improving the rail networks and providing other facilities under national transport company.

With Karnataka having just 22 km of railway network against the national average of 27 km, the aspirations from the state will also be high with improving the network.
Interestingly, he is the sixth railway minister in four years as Rail Bhavan appears to have become jinxed for UPA-II.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily