Arshad leaps to silver on final day

Arshad leaps to silver on final day

Arshad leapt to 7.24 metres to come behind Tamil Nadu’s B Azarudeen, who took the gold with a jump of 7.29 metres.
Karnataka had a bronze medal as well on the final day, through Shruthi K C in the girls under-18 800M.

Shruthi clocked 2:18.54, finishing behind G Alekhya (2:16.05) of AP and Haryana’s Sakshi (2:16.94). Shruthi had earlier won the silver in 1500M, timing 4:52.67.
Karnataka finished with a tally of five gold, six silver and eight bronze medals. Nirupama Sunderraj, who contributed two of the gold medals (100 and 200M), was adjudged the best athlete in the under-18 girls section.
Nirupama, who won the 100M gold in 12.20 seconds, claimed the 200M title in 25.15 seconds.

Another impressive performer on the final day was Tamil Nadu’s Gayathry Govindarajan.
Winner of the 100M hurdles, Gayathry won the triple jump too, in a national record of 13.36 metres.

Kerala claimed the overall title with a haul of 24 gold, 30 silver and 17 bronze, with girls contributing most of their gold medals.
Tamil Nadu, with 21 gold medals, claimed the second spot on the overall table.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily