Live blog: election coverage

Live blog: election coverage

11: 20 pm:  Not to stake claim for govt formation, BJP to sit in opposition: Vardhan

9:42 pm: 4-0 win for BJP in assembly polls; AAP makes strong debut

9: 05 pm: We will form govt if we get support in natural process. Otherwise would like to sit in Opposition: Gadkari on Delhi poll result

7: 90 pm: Crorepati Club: Delhi tops chart with at least 52 MLAs

7: 14 pm: Crorepati Club: Delhi tops chart with at least 52 MLAs

6:26 pm: We will play the role of a constructive opposition and will not seek support from any party to form the govt: Kejriwal.

6:13 pm: BJP-Cong fight a see-saw battle in Chhattisgarh

6.05 pm: BJP romps home in Madhya Pradesh third time

5.45 pm: Arvind Kejriwal: The man with a broom.

4.22 pm: See-saw battle continues in Chhattisgarh

3.46 pm: Sheila Dikshit: Curtains for the matriarch.

3.30 Pm: Was foolish to misjudge AAP: Sheila Dikshit

2.30 pm:  Chouhan's son of the soil image proves to be winner, again.


2.00 pm: BJP set for landlside victory in Rajasthan.

1.55 pm: Where is Digvijaya Singh. Why is he quiet?

1.07 pm: Modi behind BJP's good showing in Rajasthan: Raje

12.30 pm: AAP speaks - A small movement making a stunning debut shows people want change. Setback for both Modi and Rahul.

11.55 am: Sheila Dixit sends her resignation as the chief minister of Delhi

11.20 am: Will Rahul take the blame for the stunning route of Congress in Delhi, MP and Rajasthan? Congress leader Jayanti Natarajan just said the blame is on collective Congress leadership and not any individual.

 11.07 am: Journlist Vinod Mehta makes an interesting point: Why shouldn’t Congress  support AAP in Delhi to keep BJP out.

10: 50 am: BJP leads in Madhya Pradesh initial trends

10.40 am: 

BJP leads in Delhi, AAP makes waves.

10.20 am: BJP ahead in three states, Congress in Chhattisgarh

10.00: am: 

After two hours of voting clear trends are emerging. BJP celebrating in MP and Rajasthan, running neck to neck with Congress  in Chhattisgarh. Big question in Delhi: Will it be a hung assembly. The contest is between BJp and AAP. Sheila era is over.


9: 32 am: 

BJP seems to be heading to decisive victories in Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan. Congress defeat on Delhi is going to be as stunning.

9: 00 am: First hour of counting comes to an end: Biggest story so far: AAP surging in Delhi, right behind BJP. Congress on back foot here. 15 years of Congress rule may end today.

BJP gaining impressive leads over Congress in MP and Rajasthan, while it looks neck to neck in Chattisgarh.

8:34 am:  Won’t support Congress or BJP, says Kejriwal. It is either the seat of power or opposition. No behind the scene manipulations for AAP, he says.

8.00 am: Here we go. Counting begins in four states. 

7:58 am: Congress is expected to lose and BJP to surge. Everyone is watching AAP. If you like to catch up with some background reading, try Exit polls signal exit for Congress

7:55 am: It is tempting to see today’s results as the semi-final to the next year’s Lok Sabha polls? But together, these five states just account for 72 of 543 Lok Sabha seats.

But still, the results would be as good an indicator of the popular mood as you can get at this time. Check out for a neat sum up significance of today’s counting:  Mango people’s anger

7.45 am: Good morning. DH team reporting for election duty.

We will be bringing you live results and breaking stories as the counting progresses in Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan and New Delhi. In Mizroram, counting is scheduled for tomorrow.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)