14 out of 20 SP nominations rejected

Out of 20 candidates fielded by the SP, for election to the Madikeri CMC, 14 nominations have been rejected. Flaying the rejection of the nominations, the SP workers staged a protest in the CMC premises on Thursday.

The nominations were rejected as there were less than five names of proposers in the nominations, said aspirant from ward 13 K Appayya.

“When we filed the nominations on Wednesday, the election officer had said that name of one proposer was sufficient. However, he has misguided us,” he alleged. “To my knowledge, for a national party candidate, name of one proposer is sufficient.

There is a need for five proposers for a new or a regional party. The election officer had failed to furnish details on proposer to us,” he said.

He said that the members will approach the court qustioning the rejection. “We will bring in a stay order for the election procedure,” he added.

The election officer was not available for comment.

The SP had filed nominations from 20 wards, of which only five nominations have been accepted. They are Krishnam Raju (fifth ward), M Khaleel (ward 10), Suresh (ward 18), Muneer (ward 22) and Jameer (ward 23). The rejected nominations are Usha (ward 1), Bharathi (ward 2), Meena Nanjappa (ward 3), Rubiya (ward 4), Naseema Shafi (ward 6), Roopa Ramesh (*ward 7), Sathish (ward 8), Arunakshi (ward 11), Nirmala (ward 12), K Appayya (ward 13), Ismail (ward 14), Yogesh kumar (ward 15), Savithri (ward 20), and Gangadhar (ward 21).

Ward number 17 candidate Gangamma had not submitted caste certificate. Hence, her nomination papers were rejected.

Comments (+)