India to play two warm-up games before ICC World Twenty20

India to play two warm-up games before ICC World Twenty20

India will play two warm-up games before their opening match of the ICC World Twenty20 to be held in Bangladesh next month, according the schedule announced by the world body today.

A total of 16 warm-up matches will be played in the men's event, including eight ahead of the first round and another eight in the lead up to the Super 10 stage. India play against Sri Lanka in their first warm-up game on March 17 in Mirpur before taking on England two days later at the same venue.

India begin their ICC World Twenty20 campaign on March 21 against Pakistan in Mirpur.The ICC also announceed match officials for the tournament which will be held between March 16 and April 6 in three venues -- Mirpur, Chittagong and Sylhet.

The match referees' responsibilities throughout the tournament will be shared between David Boon, Ranjan Madugalle and Javagal Srinath of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees.

The on-field responsibilities will be shared by all 11 of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires, namely: Aleem Dar, Kumar Dharmasena, Steve Davis, Marais Erasmus, Ian Gould, Richard Illingworth, Richard Kettleborough, Nigel Llong, Bruce Oxenford, Paul Reiffel and Rod Tucker, as well as Billy Bowden and S Ravi of the Emirates International Panel of ICC Umpires.

Meanwhile, 10 women's warm-up matches will be held at the Bangladesh Krira Shikha Protishtan (BKSP) 3 and 4 in Dhaka before the ICC Women's World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014 kicks off in Sylhet on March 23. 
The schedule of warm-up matches (Men's):

Before first round:

Mar 12: Bangladesh v UAE (1530-1830) at Fatullah; Ireland v Nepal (1930-2230) at Fatullah; Afghanistan v Netherlands (1530-1830) at ZACS Chittagong; Zimbabwe v Hong Kong (1930-2230) at ZACS Chittagong.

Mar 14: Nepal v UAE (1530-1830) at Fatullah; Bangladesh v Ireland (1930-2230) at Fatullah; Afghanistan v Zimbabwe (1530-1830) at MA Aziz Chittagong; Hong Kong v Netherlands (1930-2230) at MA Aziz Chittagong.

Before Super 10 stage:

Mar 17: New Zealand v Pakistan (1530-1830) in Mirpur; Sri Lanka v India (1930-2230) in Mirpur.

Mar 18: West Indies v England (1530-1830) at Fatullah; South Africa v Bangladesh A (1930-2230) at Fatullah.

Mar 19: Sri Lanka v West Indies (1530-1830) in Mirpur; England v India (1930-2230) in Mirpur; Australia v New Zealand (1530-1830) at Fatullah; South Africa v Pakistan (1530-1830) at Fatullah.

Women's warm-up matches:

Mar 18: Australia v Sri Lanka (0930-1230) at BKSP 3, Dhaka; New Zealand v India (1330-1630) at BKSP 4, Dhaka; England v Pakistan (0930-1230) at BKSP 3, Dhaka; West Indies v South Africa (13301630) at BKSP 4, Dhaka.

Mar 20: Pakistan v Bangladesh (0930-1230) at BKSP 3, Dhaka; Sri Lanka v Ireland (1230-1630) at BKSP 4, Dhaka.

Mar 21: Australia v West Indies (0930-1230) at BKSP 3, Dhaka; South Africa v Bangladesh (1330-1630) at BKSP 4, Dhaka; England v New Zealand (0930-1230) at BKSP 3, Dhaka; India v Ireland (1330-1630) at BKSP 4, Dhaka. 

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0