Sanga joins Gooch as SL close in on win

Kumar Sangakkara became the second batsman in history to score a triple-century and a hundred in the same match as Sri Lanka pressed for victory in the second Test against Bangladesh in Chittagong on Friday.

The tourists, who led by 161 runs on the first innings, declared their second knock at 305-4 in the post-tea session of the fourth day’s play at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury stadium.

Bangladesh, set an improbable target of 467 to record a series-levelling win, were 12-0 at stumps with Tamim Iqbal on seven and Shamsur Rahman on four.

Sri Lanka will begin the final day needing 10 wickets to sweep the two-match series, while Bangladesh require another 455 runs in a minimum of 90 overs.

Left-handed Sangakkara followed his 319 in the first innings with 105 in the second, joining Englishman Graham Gooch as the only batsmen to achieve the rare feat.
Gooch made 333 and 123 against India at Lord’s in 1990.

Sangakkara, with 34 three-figure knocks already under his belt, added one more to the tally with a six off Sohag Gazi after tea, but was bowled off the next delivery.

Dinesh Chandimal remained unbeaten on 100, having shared a fourth-wicket stand of 145 with Sangakkara after Sri Lanka’s wobbled at the start.

Earlier, Bangladesh were bowled out for 426 in their first knock within 25 minutes of the start in reply to Sri Lanka’s 587.

Spinner Ajantha Mendis finished with six for 99, having claimed both the remaining wickets after Bangladesh resumed the day at 409-8.

SRI LANKA (I Innings): 587 all out
BANGLADESH (I Innings, O/n: 409/8):
Mahmudullah c Silva b Mendis    30
Al-Amin b Mendis    9
Razzak (not out)    11
Extras (B-8, LB-1, NB-21)    30
Total (all out, 119.5 overs)    426
Fall of wickets: 9-409.
Bowling: Lakmal 25-6-70-1, Pradeep 15-2-96-0, Mendis 29.5-3-99-6, Perera 39-4-119-3, Mathews 11-1-33-0. SRI LANKA (II Innings):
K’aratne c Nasir b M’dullah    15
Silva lbw Mahmudullah    29   
Sangakkara b Gazi    105   
Jayawardene lbw Shakib    11   
Chandimal (not out)    100
Mathews (not out)    43
Extras (LB-2)    2    Total (4 wkts decl, 75.5 overs)    305
Fall of wickets: 1-36, 2-49, 3-78, 4-223.
Bowling: Al-Amin 7-1-31-0, Gazi 18.5-1-87-1, Shakib 22-2-80-1, Mahmudullah 18-4-46-2, Haque 7-0-46-0, Nasir 3-0-13-0.
Tamim (batting)    7
Shamsur (batting)    4
Extras (B-1)    1    Total (for no loss, 8 overs)    12
Bowling: Lakmal 3-0-9-0, Perera 4-3-1-0, Mendis 1-0-1-0.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0