Lahiri cards seven-under

Perera stays on pole

In-form Mithun Perera dished out another blistering performance to stay on pole position but defending champion Anirban Lahiri served up a flawless card to stay on the heels of the Sri Lankan in the PGTI-Eagleburg Open here on Thursday.

While Perera, winner of last week’s Standard Chartered Open in Colombo, maintained his intensity with a fine second-round six-under 66 for a total of 131, Lahiri jumped from tied fourth to sole second at 133 after a brilliant 65 at his home course, Eagleton Golf Resort.

Vijay Kumar (68), N Thangaraja (69), R Murthy (69) and Moinuddin Malak (68) were bunched together at tied fourth at 137 as players once again feasted on the benign conditions on offer with a stunning 36 players breaking par.

Teeing off with Lahiri, Perera matched the Bangalorean shot for shot, showing his immense confidence after the home triumph achieved last week. A four-time winner on the PGTI, Perera, a 10th tee starter, made a sedate beginning before dropping a shot on the 13th hole.

He, however, took the turn on a positive note, birdieing the 17th and 18th and then went on a rampage just like opening round, nailing four birdies on the trot from the fourth. He closed out his round with a birdie, helping himself to a two-shot cushion.
Lahiri, who started slowly last year before going on overdrive in the second and third rounds, appears determined to rewrite the script.

Making all the right moves on a course that he knows like the back of his hand, the 27-year-old sunk three birdies on the opening nine and holed another four on the inward journey to set up an intriguing battle over the next two days.

Leading scores (after 36 holes): 131: Mithun Perera (65, 66); 133: Anirban Lahiri (68, 65); 137: Vijay Kumar (69, 68), N Thangaraja (68, 69), R Murthy (68, 69), Moinuddin Malak (69, 68); 138: Himmat Singh Rai (71, 67), Shamim Khan (71, 67), Mukesh Kumar (69, 69), Manav Jaini (69, 69); 139: Ramesh Kumar (72, 67), K Prabagaran (68, 71), Naman Dawar (67, 72), Anura Rohana (71, 68).

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0