LS polls: Nine file papers on the last day

LS polls: Nine file papers on the last day

LS polls: Nine file papers on the last day

A flurry of activities was noticed at the Deputy Commissioner’s office, here, on Wednesday, the last day to file nomination papers for the election to the Lok Sabha from Mysore-Kodagu constituency. 

In all, nine candidates submitted their papers on the day, taking the total number of candidates to 22.

Ending speculations, JD(S) fielded former Upa Lokayukta K Chandrashekaraiah as its candidate, while retired bank official M V Padmamma entered the fray from Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).

Though the process for the day began with an Independent G Lingaiah from Ashokpuram filing the papers, the piece de resistance was the nomination of Chandrashekaraiah, who arrived at the DC’s office around 2.20 pm, 40 minutes before the process ended at 3 pm.

The reason for his delay in the nomination process is owed to the inauspicious ‘Rahukala’ between 12 noon and 1.30 pm. Though Padmamma too delayed filing the papers due to similar reasons, the workers attributed it to some procedural hurdles as the nomination was bereft of a few documents.

Interestingly, general secretary of JD(S) state unit Devanur Gurumallesh too filed the nomination as Independent. Gurumallesh told media, he decided to take the plunge as he was meted out injustice by the party supremo H D Deve Gowda.  

Other candidates, who filed their papers are: C Mohan Kumar, BSP Mysore city unit president; Akhil Ahmed, Tilak Nagar; Eshwar D Horemavu from Republican Party of India (RPI); D S Nirvanappa from Kushalnagar, secretary of Communist Party of India (Marxist Lenin) Red Brigade, Kodagu district and R Vishwanath, an advocate as Independent.

A total of 22 candidates have filed their nominations, including sitting MP A H Vishwanath, Prathapa Simha from BJP and Mahadevappa from JD(U), who has also filed the papers as an Independent.