Saina, Chetan pocket titles in emphatic fashion

Saina, Chetan pocket titles in emphatic fashion

India’s domination was quite evident as apart from the women’s singles and men’s singles titles, the hosts also won the mixed doubles crown and its men’s doubles team also made the summit clash at the Babu Banarasi Das UPBA Academy here.

World number eight Saina scored a convincing 21-17, 21-13 win over fourth seed compatriot Aditi Mutatkar in the women’s singles summit clash.

“This is my biggest win as I have won it in India. I was in desperate need of this win as I didn’t have a very good second half because of fever. So I am really happy to win it here,” Saina said after the match.

World number 17 Chetan overcame a second-game lapse to beat fifth seed Indonesian Dyonisius Hayom Rumbaka 21-17, 19-21, 21-16 in the men’s singles final.
Both the winners earned USD 3,750 each as prize money.

Second seeds Aparna Balan and Arun Vishnu also notched up their second title of the year when they pipped fellow Indian third seeds Shruti Kurian and Tarun Kona 21-14, 17-21, 21-19 in a gruelling mixed doubles final.

However, it was a disappointing day for the men’s doubles pair of Akshay Dewalkar and Jishnu Sanyal, who lost the thrilling final 25-27, 25-23, 15-21 to Indonesian pair of Adnan Fauzi and Tri Kusumawardana.

In the women’s doubles final, third seeded Japanese pair of Misaki Matusutomo and Akaya Tekahashi defeated Indonesian duo Nadya Melati and Devi Tika Permatasari 21-14, 15-21 21-15.

PTIResults (all finals, prefix denotes seeding):

Men: 1-Chetan Anand (Ind) bt 5-Dyonisius Hayom Rumbaka (Ina) 21-17, 19-21, 21-16.
Doubles: Adnan Fauzi/Tri Kusumawardana (Ina) bt 1-Akdhay Dewalkar/Jisnhu Sanyal (Ind) 27-25, 23-25, 21-15.

Women: 1-Saina Nehwal (Ind) bt 4-Aditi Mutatkar (Ind) 21-17, 21-13.
Doubles: 3-Misaki Matusutomo/Akaya Tekahashi (Jpn) bt Nadya Melati/Devi Tika Permatasari (Ina) 21-14, 15-21, 21-15.

Mixed doubles: 2-Aparna Balan/Arun Vishnu (Ind) bt 3-Shruti Kurian/Tarun Kona (Ind) 21-14, 17-21, 21-19.