Sharma-Davessar duo hits the front

Sharma-Davessar duo hits the front

Team Maruti’s Sandeep Sharma and Varun Davessar (co-driver) seized the lead on the second day of the Maruti Suzuki Dakshi Dare Rally here on Wednesday.

The duo, driving a Gypsy, clocked 1:02.27 to hit the front in the Extreme 4-wheeler category while team-mates Sanjay Agarwal and Venu Ramesh Kumar (co-driver), also in a gypsy, were in second place at 1:03.02.

Close on their heels were Karan AM and Shahid Salman, driving a Baleno, in third with a time of 1:03.15.
It was, however, a disappointing day for defending champions and overnight leaders Amanpreet Ahluwalia and Sudeep (co-driver), who slipped to eighth in the standings after receiving a stop and go penalty.

In the Extreme Bike category, defending champion and opening leg leader Nataraj maintained his lead with a time of 45.36. He was followed by Mohit Verma (47.17) and Promod Joshua (48.44) in second and third place respectively.

The second day’s route of the extreme category was a mix of tarmac and dirt which allowed the cars to display high speeds in the relatively flat terrain.

Results: Extreme 4-wheeler: Sandeep Sharma/ Varun Davessar (1:02.27) 1; Sanjay Agarwal/ Venu Ramesh Kumar (1:03.02) 2; Karan AM/ Shahid Salman (1:03.15) 3.
Extreme 2-wheeler: Nataraj (45.36) 1; Mohit Verma (47.17) 2; Pramod Joshua (48.44) 3.