Ashutosh reigns supreme

Ashutosh reigns supreme

Wildcard Ankita Raina upsets Sheethal to lift womens title

Ashutosh reigns supreme

Ashutosh Singh (left) and Ankita Raina pose with their National Grasscourt Tennis Championship titles at Kolkata on Saturday. PTI

Down in the first set, Ashutosh made a good comeback to upset fifth seed PC Vignesh of Andhra Pradesh 0-6, 7-6 (7-3), 6-2 to win the men’s singles title.

In the women’s singles final, Ankita got the better of Karnataka’s Sheethal Goutham, seeded fourth, 7-6 (7-2), 6-2.

Tamil Nadu duo of Vijay Sundar Prashanth and Mithun Murali bagged the men’s doubles title upsetting top seeded Delhi pair of Divij Sharan and Vivek Shokeen in a keenly fought encounter 6-4, 6-7 (4-7), 11-9 that lasted 107 minutes and played over two days after yesterday’s game was stopped due to bad light.

City girls Shivika Burman and Treta Bhattacharya annexed the women’s doubles title after beating Sheethal and Sweta Solanki of Delhi 7-6 (7-2), 1-6, 10-7 in the final.

Down 0-6 in the first set, Ashutosh fought back in the second set. Both players held on to their serves with the set moving to tie-breaker which the Delhi lad took 7-3.

In the decider, Ashutosh broke Vignesh in the fourth and eighth games to clinch the issue 0-6, 7-6(7-3), 6-2.

Wild card Ankita took 105 minutes to stun her opponent from Karnataka in straight sets.
In the first set, Ankita broke Sheethal in the second game to race to a 4-1 lead. Sheethal then fought back and broke Ankita in the seventh and ninth games while conceding the eighth to level the set score.

In the ninth game Ankita served two double faults at 30-40 to lose the game. But she came back strongly to take the tie-breaker 7-2.
Ankita was more careful in her shot selections in the second set and took five straight games to take a 5-0 lead.

The Gujarat girl, however, could not wrap it up as she squandered a 40-15 advantage to see her serve broken.  She eventually made no mistake in the eighth to win the title.
The men’s doubles summit clash between second seed Prashanth and Murali and top seed Sharan-Shokeen was locked one-set all when play stopped due to bad light yesterday. In the tie-breaker today, the Tamil Nadu duo won 11-9 to emerge champions.

Results (all finals): Men: Ashutosh Singh (Delhi) bt PC Vignesh (Andhra Pradesh) 0-6, 7-6(7-3), 6-2.

Doubles: Vijay Sundar Prashant/ Mithun Murali (Tamil Nadu) bt Divij Sharan/ Vivek Shokeen (Delhi) 6-4, 6-7 (4-7), 11-9.

Women: Ankita Raina (Gujarat) bt Sheethal Goutham (Karnataka) 7-6 (7-2), 6-2.
Doubles: Shivika Burman/ Treta Bhattacharyya (Ben) bt Sheethal Goutham (Kar)/ Shweta Solanki (Del) 7-6 (7-2), 1-6, 10-7.