Kundan vaults to a new high

Nitender, Jaisha win 5000M

Services’ pole vaulter Kundan set the lone meet record on the opening day of the 54th Open National Athletics Championships at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium here on Sunday.

Kundan sailed past the bar at 5.06 metres to win the gold medal. He rewrote the mark of 5.05 set by V V Geesh Kumar in 2005. 

There was none to challenge Kundan who was way ahead of the second-placed Praveen Kumar of ONGC. Praveen’s challenge ended after he had cleared 4.90 metres.

Nitender Singh of Services and O P Jaisha of Railways struck gold in the 5000M races.Nitender edged out his Services team-mate Kheta Ram in a close contest, timing 14:16.28 to 14:16.67.

Jaisha warded off her Indian Railways’ team-mate Surya Loganathan for the gold medal. The Asian Games double medallist clocked 16:13.61 while Surya claimed the silver at 16:19.99. Gunjan Singh won the women’s hammer throw with an effort of 58.38 metres. 

As expected, Railways dominated the opening day, claiming four gold medals. 

Results: Men: 5000M: Nitender Singh (SSCB) 14:16.28, 1; Kheta Ram (SSCB) 14:16.67, 2; Man Singh (SSCB) 14:17.39, 3.

Pole vault: Kundan (Services) 5.06 metres (NMR. Old: 5.05, Geesh Kumar, 2005), 1; Praveen Kumar (ONGC) 4.90, 2; Bala Krishna (Railways) 4.85, 3.

20000M walk: Manish Singh Rawat (UK) 1:33:17, 1; Chandan Singh (SSCB) 1:34:36, 2; Gurmeet Singh (UK) 1:35:01, 3. 

Women: 5000M: OP Jaisha (RSPB) 16:13.61, 1; L Surya (RSPB) 16:19.99, 2; Kavita Raut (ONGC) 16:32.03, 3. 

20000M walk: Sapna (Pol) 1:49:58, 1; Rani Yadav (RSPB) 1:52:29, 2; Rajni (Pol) 1:5248, 3. 

Shot put: Manpreet Kaur (RSPB) 16.39M, 1; Navjeet Kaur Dhillon (ONGC) 15.22M, 2; Neha Singh (Pol) 13.48M, 3. 

Hammer throw: Gunjan Singh (RSPB) 58.38M, 1; Ritu Dhiman (UP)  56.26M, 2; Sarita P Singh (RSPB) 55.65M, 3.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)