Poovamma, Uthappa honoured

Poovamma, Uthappa honoured

Poovamma, Uthappa honoured

Quarter-miler MR Poovamma and cricketer Robin Uthappa walked away with the top awards at the Sports Writers Association of Bangalore’s (SWAB) annual award’s ceremony at the Karnataka State Billiards Association here on Sunday.

While Poovaama was recognised as the Sportsperson of the Year (female) for the second year in a row for her medal winning performances in the year, Uthappa was adjudged the best Sportsperson of the Year (male) for his feats in the IPL, Vijay Hazare Trophy and Ranji Trophy in the season gone by.

Both the award winners weren’t present due to prior commitments.

The Karnataka cricket team, which won three trophies in less than two months at the start of the year, was identified as the Team of the Year.

After winning the Ranji Trophy, the team defeated a Rest Of India side to corner glory in the Irani Cup before capturing the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

J Arunkumar and Mansur Ali Khan, the batting and bowling coaches respectively of the team, won the Coaches of the Year award.

Former Indian women’s hockey captain Elvera Britto was presented with the Lifetime Achievement award.

Gagan Narang, bronze medalist in 10-metre air rifle shooting event in the 2012 London Olympics, was the chief guest for the occasion.

Winners: Coaches of the year: J Arun Kumar and Mansur Ali Khan (Cricket); Junior sportsperson of the year (male): S Chikkarangappa (Golf); Junior sportsperson of the year (female): Aditi Ashok (Golf); Behind the scene award: Raghuprasad (Hockey); Featured Association (2012): Karnataka State Billiards Association; Featured Association (2013): Karnataka State Cricket Association; Featured Association (2014): Karnataka Volleyball Association; Sportsperson of the year (male): Robin Uthappa (Cricket); Sportsperson of the year (female): M R Poovamma (Athletics); Lifetime achievement award: Elvera Britto (Hockey); Team of the year award: Karnataka State Cricket Association (Cricket).