Ward No 15 goes to poll today with four contestants

A total of 10,645 voters enrolled; NOTA not applicable

After two-week long hustings, Ward No 15 of Mysore City Corporation (MCC) is going for by-poll on Friday. The ward is reserved for general category (Woman), and the voting will be held between 7 am and 5 pm.

In all, four candidates are in the fray including a lone Independent nominee. Komala Ramesh is the Congress nominee, Seema Prasad is contesting from BJP. Lakshmi Ganesh is the Janata Dal (Secular) candidate and K Kempamma is the Independent candidate.

The by-poll was necessitated following the resignation of sitting Congress corporator Manjula Manasa in June, following her nomination as the chairperson of Karnataka State Women’s Commission.

The voters of the ward will have to elect their representative in the local body again, after the previous general elections held 21 months ago in February 2013.


Returning Officer M J Roopa told Deccan Herald, a total of 10,645 voters, including 5,377 females and  5,268 males had enrolled in the ward covering Kuvempunagar, Vivekananda Nagar and Ramakrishna Nagar. The None of The Above (NOTA) option will not be applicable for this election as it is being conducted by the State Election Commission (SEC).

A total of 11 polling booths have been set up, five at Jyothi Higher Primary School and four at Government First Grade College, Kuvempunagar, and the remaining two at Brahmashri Vidyapeetha.

Among them, three each are considered hyper-sensitive and sensitive, and two - normal.
To ensure free and fair polling, as many as 60 polling personnel have been deployed. The personnel have been split into 15 teams, each having one presiding officer and three staff to assist them.

Besides, two teams have been constituted to monitor election code of conduct, and excise squad led by an officer in sub-inspector cadre.

Blanket security

Not willing to take any chances, a blanket of security has been spread in the ward, with the deployment of 120 policemen. Security at every booth will be monitored by three personnel - one SI and two constables.

Mustering and de-mustering will be conducted at the zonal office two of MCC near Jayanagar railway gate. The counting will be held on December 8.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Deccanherald.com/news/lok-sabha-elections-2019 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0