All set for Dist level Kannada Sahithya Sammelan

All the roads of the district are leading to Shanivarasanthe, the venue where the two day sammelan will be held from today onwards.

The sammelan will be held under the presidentship of Litterateur Dr M G Nagaraj.
The vedike of the sammelan has been named after Besuru Nanjanna. Kannada and Culture department Director Manu Baligar will inaugurate. Welcome Committee Honorary President M P Appacchu Ranjan, sixth district Kannada Sahithya Sammelan President Edurkala K Shankaranarayana Bhat, Deputy Commissioner K H Ashwathanarayana Gowda, Zilla Panchayat President V M Vijaya will be the chief guests.

Litterateur Subraya Chokkadi will release souvenir and other books.  Seating arrangement for 3000 people have been made at the venue. Meals will be served to nearly 5,000 people in the afternoon.

Gram Panchayat President Anuradha Leeladhar will hoist the national flag at 8.30 am. The procession of the sammelan will commence at 8.45 am. Sammelan president will be taken out in a procession from Bapuji School premises. ‘Keelu kudure,’ ‘Pooja kunitha,’ ‘Patada kunitha,’ ‘Suggi kunitha,’ ‘Dollu kunitha,’ ‘Somana kunitha,’ Yakshagana and other troupes will take part in the procession.

The session will begin at 2.30 pm. Ponnampet Forest College Assistant Professor Dr C G Kushalappa will preside over a session on ‘Kodagu and environment.’

In the presidentship of Hampi Kannada University Lecturer Prof Thambanda Vijay Poonaccha, a session on ‘History of Kodagu and its contribution to culture.’

The third session will be held under the presidentship of Dr Kavita Rai. The cultural programme will be inaugurated by Shimoga District Kannada Sahithya Parishat President D Manjunath.

Childrens’ poet meet will be held under the presidentship of Chaithanya Aradhya of Madapura on January 21 at 10 am.

On January 21, sessions on ‘Sahithya mathu dharmika hinnaleyalli Kodagu,’ ‘Kodagu kanda janapara horatagalu,’ ‘Kodagina raithara savalugalu’ will be held. The valedictory will be held at 3.45 pm which will be attended by Kannada Sahithya Parishat President Dr R K Nallur Prasad, Assembly Speaker K G Bopaiah, District-in-Charge Minister Krishna Palemar, MP H Vishwanath will be the chief guests.

Shobha Subbaiah (dance), G B Moideen (traditional medicine), M K Devarajamma (sports), M P Muthappa (co-operation), Narasaiah (folk), S S Varaprasad (arts), Prajavani photographer H S Manjunath (photography), Dr Venugopal (science), Jahnavi Prasad (KSP Kannada exam second rank), N G Srinivas (agriculture), Srinivas (drama) will be felicitated on the occasion.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)