Gear up to tackle monsoon, says DC

Deputy Commissioner Anurag Tewari has directed the officials concerned to get prepared for the heavy rains during the monsoon and take precautionary measures to check rain damages in the district.

Speaking at a meeting on precautionary measures during the monsoon, held at the Fort Hall, in Madikeri, on Monday, the DC said, Bhagamandala, Ayyangeri, Napoklu, Karadigodu, Dubare, Lakshmanathirtha Guhya, Kanive, Nellihudikeri and many other places in the district would get flooded during rains. Precautionary measures should be taken to transport people to safer places and temporary rehabilitation centres should be opened at schools.

The tahsildars and Gram Panchayats should take appropriate decisions, he said.

During landslides or when road connectivity gets cuts off, there should be coordination between the Public Work department, Rural Development and Engineering department, Cesc, Forest department and Police departments to help the people. A decision has been taken to appoint staff to work in night shifts and holidays in the CMC office, taluk office, engineering division, Public Work department and Cesc, he added.

ZP CEO M Koorma Rao said, if there are any signs of danger, information should be given to the GP, Revenue department, engineering division, PWD, home guards, fire services, Cesc, BSNL and other departments.

As phone connection would get lost, wireless base sets will be kept in CMC office, one in every taluk office and DC office control room for public use. Along with this a 24x7 help line has been started to receive complaints regarding rain damages. Anyone can call 08272-221077 to avail help, said ADC M Sathish Kumar.

SP Vartika Katiyar and AC Nanjundegowda were present.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)