Bangladesh vanquish Indians

Cricket Second ODI: Hosts humble Dhoni's men by six wickets to take an unassailable 2-0 lead

Bangladesh vanquish Indians

India slumped to a new low on Sunday as they suffered their first ever ODI series defeat against Bangladesh after the hosts clinched a comfortable six-wicket victory in the second one-dayer to take an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match series, here.

Young Bangladeshi paceman Mustafizur Rehman (6/43) yet again tormented the Indian batsmen with his second successive six-wicket haul as the visitors folded for 200 in 45 overs.

The 19-year-old young left-arm pacer from remote Satkhira village became only the second bowler in ODI history to record two five-wicket hauls in his first two matches. Zimbabwe pacer Brian Vitori is the only other bowler to get two fifers in as many ODIs first up.

Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan made a useful contribution of 53 while skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni (47) looked horribly out of touch in his innings. The only significant stand of the Indian innings was between Dhawan and Virat Kohli (23) as they added 74 for the second wicket.

Due to rain interruption late in the Indian innings, the hosts were set a target of 200 in 47 overs and the Bangladeshi went about their job fearlessly.

It was highly disappointing show by the star-studded Indians, who were outclassed in all departments of the game by the spirited Bangladeshis who are now on a roll with a string of good performances.

Bangladesh have been doing well of late in world cricket from reaching the quarterfinals of the World Cup to blanking Pakistan 3-0 in a recent ODI series.

Bangladesh have also qualified for the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy, to be held in England, following this series win.

The home batsmen went about their business without any fuss as openers Tamim Iqbal (13) and Soumya Sarkar (34) stroked confidently from the word go.

Tamim was lucky to survive early when he had not even opened his account as the catch taken by Kohli off Dhawal Kulkarni was not found clean by the umpires.

However, Kulkarni had Tamim caught in the slip region in the seventh over when the left-hander edged an away going ball and Dhawan took a simple catch.

Litton Das (36), Mushfiqur Rahim (31) and experienced Shakib Al Hasan (51 not out) batted with a lot of determination, foiling all attempts of the Indians of making a comeback.  Earlier, electing to bat in a must-win encounter of the three-match series, India kept losing wickets as Bangladesh bowlers once again showed their might.

Five Indian batsmen failed to reach double figures with three left without troubling the scorers including Ambati Rayudu, who was a surprise replacement of Ajinkya Rahane.
A brief rain interruption did not deter the batsmen from going for their runs but Nasir trapped Kohli leg before in the 13th over.

Kohli’s poor form has been of some concern as he has got one century in the last 14 games with no score in excess of 50 in other games.

Dhoni promoted himself up the order to do the repair job with Dhawan, who registered his third ODI fifty. After Dhawan;s dismissal, Suresh Raina (34) then joined Dhoni at the crease as the duo stitched a 53-run partnership for the fifth wicket. But the in-form Mustafizur got Raina caught behind in the 36th over. Trying to cut a shortish delivery close to his body, Raina edged the ball as Das safely gloved it behind the stumps.

score board


Rohit c Rahman b Mustafizur    0
Dhawan c Litton b Nasir    53
Kohli lbw Nasir    23
Dhoni c Sarkar b Mustafizur    47
Rayudu c Nasir b Rubel    0
Raina c Litton b Mustafizur    34
Jadeja b Mustafizur    19
Patel lbw Mustafizur    0
Ashwin c Litton b Mustafizur    4
Bhuvneshwar c Litton b Rubel    3
Kulkarni (not out)    2
Extras (LB-6, W-8, NB-1)    15
Total (all out in 45 overs)    200
Fall of wickets: 1-0, 2-74, 3-109, 4-110, 5-163, 6-174, 7-174, 8-184, 9-196.
Bowling: Mustafizur 10-0-43-6, Taskin 4-0-24-0, Mortaza 7-0-35-0, Nasir Hossain 10-0-33-2, Rubel Hossain 7-0-26-2, Shakib Al Hasan 7-0-33-0.


Tamim c Dhawan b Kulkarni    13
Sarkar lbw Ashwin    34
Litton c Dhoni b Patel    36
Mushfiqur (run out)    31
Shakib (not out)    51
Sabbir (not out)    22
Extras (LB-4, W-9)    13   
Total (for 4 wkts; 38 overs)    200
Fall of wickets: 1-34, 2-86, 3-98, 4-152.
Bowling: Bhuvneshwar 5-0-32-0, Kulkarni 7-0-42-1, Ashwin 10-2-32-1, Jadeja 7-0-28-0, Axar 7-0-48-1, Raina 2-0-14-0. 

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)