Manavjit, Samaresh to lead India

The National Rifle Association of India on Saturday announced the team for the tournament to held at the upcoming Dr Karni Singh Shooting Range, which will also host the shooting events during the 2010 Commonwealth Games.

Besides Sandhu and Jung, the list also comprises 24 men and 17 women shooters. “Hosts India are fielding a very strong contingent in the tournament, which will be participated by shooters from 10 Commonwealth countries, and are expected to lead the medal tally,” an NRAI release said. Senior shooter Gagan Narang is the other prominent name in the men’s team, while among women medal hopes will rest on Tejaswini Sawant and Suma Shirur.

The NRAI also said that the Indian shooters will now practice in the new shooting range, which is expected to be inaugurated within 15-20 days time.
“Holding events of such magnitude always tests the organising skills of the hosts but NRAI is fully geared up and will ensure this championship is huge success both in terms of conduct and the performance of Indian shooters,” Secretary General of NRAI Baljeet Singh Sethi said.

Shooters: Men: 50M rifle 3P: Sanjeev Rajput, Gagan Narang, Imran Hasan Khan; 50M rifle prone: Joydeep Karmakar, Gagan Narang, Sushil Ghaley; 10M rifle: Gagan Narang, PT Ragunath, Sanjeev Rajput; 50M pistol: Viraj Singh, Bapu Vanzare, Amanpreet Singh; 25M rapid fire pistol: Vijay Kumar, Pemba Tamang, Gurpreet Singh; 25M centre fire pistol: Vijay Kumar, Mahender Singh, Viraj Singh; 25M standard pistol: Gurpreet Singh, Samaresh Jung, Vijay Kumar; 10M pistol: Samaresh Jung, Zakir Khan, Omkar Singh; Trap: Manavjit Singh Sandhu, Birendeep Sodhi, Anirudh Singh; Double trap: Vikram Bhatnagar, Mohd Ashad, Ajay Mittal; Skeet: Mairaj Ahmed Khan, Arozepal Singh, PP Singh.

Women: 50M rifle 3P: Tejaswini Sawant, Lajja Gauswami, Meena; 50M rifle prone: Lajja Gauswami, Tejaswini Sawant, Birmati; 10M rifle: Priya Aggarwal, Tejaswini Sawant, Suma Shirur; 25M pistol: Anisa Sayyed, Annuraj Singh, Rahi Sarnobat; 10M pistol: Shweta Chaudhary, Pushpanjali Rana, Annuraj Singh; Trap: Shreyasi Singh, Shagun Chowdhary, Seema Tomar; Skeet: Arti S Rao, Rashmee Rathore, Saniya Sheikh.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)